Cox San Diego County Department of Education
(Left) Stephanie Cluxton, Jacqueline Ma, Aimee McCoy, Juanita Nuñez, and Melissa Rains. Photo credit:

Five local educators representing schools in San Diego, North County and South County were named San Diego County Teachers of the Year.

Officials on Friday named the winners as part of the 32nd Annual Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers, presented in part by the San Diego County Department of Education (SDCOE).

Teacher of the Year 2022-23:

  • Stephanie ClaxtonSan Diego’s Torrey Hills School, part of the Delmar Union School District, “strives to create a classroom environment in which students take responsibility for their learning, develop their curiosity, and discover their talents,” said an educator. is explained.
  • Jacqueline Ma, Lincoln Acres Elementary School, National City, National School District. She spearheaded her STEM improvement plan across the school, inviting outside organizations such as the Salk Institute, the Scripps Institute of Oceanography, and the San Diego Zoo to provide opportunities for students to interact with experts.
  • Amy McCoy Mesa Verde Middle School, Poway Unified School District believes that helping students “share questions and feel valued by asking questions” is critical to the success of the entire class.
  • Juanita Nunez, Ocean View Hills, Sunset, Smythe, Willow, La Mirada Elementary School, San Isidro School District. The daughter of a farm worker, her Nuñez attends her 80-minute “Sci-Phy” classes that combine science and physical education instruction for 370 students each week.
  • Melissa Raines, Castle Park Middle School, Sweetwater Union High School District, Chula Vista greets science students with a “Question of the Day” to gauge their feelings. The answers lead to the first topic of conversation when the class begins, and the group moves into a “mindful moment” before the first lesson.

San Diego County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Paul Gotthold said: “We are honored to recognize these incredible educators and individuals.”

This year’s five teachers will represent their counties in California’s Teacher of the Year program. State winners will be announced next month.

Cox will partner with SDCOE to produce a one-hour television special that will honor local teachers, spotlight teachers of the year, and share highlights from the reception. Shows hosted by Food Network personalities and San Diego Magazine Owner Troy Johnson will air on October 2nd at 9pm on the YurView Network (Cox Channel 4) and will be played several times in October and November.

Winners were selected from among 40 teachers nominated by the school district. Winners were selected based on a review of applications and interviews by a panel of former County Teachers of the Year, district and county offices of education administrators, and PTA representatives.

They were selected on the basis of their school and community involvement, educational philosophy, knowledge of current educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, school culture, and ability to serve as educational ambassadors.

Since 1974, 191 teachers have been named county teacher of the year. Of those, he was named California Teacher of the Year 23 times and National Teacher of the Year 3 times.

Source link

By admin1